Academic Support Services - Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

Academic Support Services

IMSA ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES

Main Telephone Number 630-907-5000

College & Academic Counselors (CAC)

Collaborate in the development and delivery of college application materials, financial aid, college admission testing, as well as all course selection and scheduling processes, academic counseling and intervention programs. CACs also serve on a support team with other academic, residential, and student life members.

Room Number: A102

https://www.imsa.edu/college-and-academic-counseling/?s=CAC

Academic Support

Learning Strategies Coordinator

Academic support for students by overseeing individual and group interventions.

Amy Keck                                          630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Room Number: A109 – Writing Center

  • Serve as Academic Manager on behalf of sophomores
  • Teach students strategies to succeed academically one-on-one and in group settings
  • Meet weekly with a select group of students who are at-risk, struggling, or as noted in Education Plans
  • Assist students in the transition to a profoundly different learning environment
  • Collaborate with CAC’s, Counselors, Staff and Faculty to support students with their academics
  • Manage peer tutor program with Area Coordinator
  • Lead weekly Strategies Meeting with team creating support plan for identified students

Academic Support Specialist

Dr. Linda Hefferin                               630-907-5677                lhefferin@imsa.edu

Room Number: A111B

Director of PROMISE and Excel Programs

Dr. Anita White                                   630-907-5949                            awhite@imsa.edu

Room Number: E100

  • Excel Program Information
  • Serve as Advocate on behalf students
  • Teach students strategies to succeed in leadership roles one-on-one and in group settings
  • Manage PROMISE and Excel programs
  • Select, hire and supervise Excel and PROMISE tutors
  • Collaborate with CAC’s, Counselors, Staff and Faculty to support students with their academics
  • Attend weekly Strategies Meeting with team creating support plan for identified students
  • Teach Science Elective courses

Informational Resource Center (IRC)

Research, Citing, Sources & Technology Support

https://www.imsa.edu/information-resource-center/

Contact: 630-907-5920 or irc@imsa.edu

Resident Counselors (RC’s)

Residential support and resource for students.

  • Assist staff with monitoring students’ academic success
  • Communicate student referrals to staff, faculty and administrators as needed
  • Serve as a liaison to staff in the academic building on behalf of students

Peer Tutor Liaisons-Residential Life

RC’s who manage peer tutors within each hall.

Students should first seek out their RC for schedule and availability of resident hall peer tutors.   If additional support is needed, students should meet with the Peer Tutor Liaison in their building.

1501 Rafael Gonzalez rgonzalez@imsa.edu
1502 Robyn Norton rnorton@imsa.edu
1503 Freddy-May AbiSamra fabisamra@imsa.edu
1504 Ethan Castro ecastro@imsa.edu
1505 Grant Bell gbell@imsa.edu
1506 Pooja Haney phaney@imsa.edu
1507 Mansour Baalbaki mbaalbaki@imsa.edu
Academic Support Supervisor Jerami Johnson jjohnson@imsa.edu

Resident Hall Tutors

IMSA students who have been approved by subject specific faculty and staff to assist students with coursework.

Location: See your RC for more information.

Day Tutors/IRC Tutors

IMSA students who have been approved by subject specific faculty and staff to assist peers with coursework.  Tutors are available during the day in the IRC, IN2 and Math Department as well as the IRC from 7pm-9pm on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

Contact Amy Keck at akeck@imsa.edu or Linda Hefferin at lhefferin@imsa.edu for more information.

Location: IN2, IRC & Math Department

Writing Center

Erin Micklo, Writing Center Director & Writing Specialist

Room Number: A109             630-907-5489             emicklo@imsa.edu

  • Coordinate the Writing Center, including selecting, training and supervising Writing Center tutors
  • Works individually with students, assessing writing abilities and needs
  • Meet with students on an on-going or walk-in basis

Writing Center Tutors

Students who have been recommended by faculty to provide assistance with writing assignments.

Peer Tutors from the Writing Center are available in the Writing Center, A109 during the week and in the residence halls during evening hours.

A, B, C, D Days          9:30am-4:45pm

I Day                           11:00am-4:45pm

Visit the Writing Center in A109 to meet with a Writing Center Tutor or ask your RC for a list of Residence Hall Writing Center Tutors during evening hours.

Faculty

Faculty hours and offices vary per individual.  Please reach out to specific faculty to schedule a time to meet.

Support from faculty in a specific class is not inclusive to only the instructor teaching the class.  Students are welcome and encouraged to seek support from other faculty in the department, as well.

https://www.imsa.edu/site_section/faculty/

Mathematics & Computer Science

Set support given to students on I Days with Mathematics/Computer Science Faculty.

Spring 2019 I-Day Review Sessions and MI Problem Set/WebWork Due Days

Course Review Time Room Problem Set Due/WebWork Due
MI 2 1p–2p A152 Tuesday/Tuesday
MI 3 2p–3p A152 Friday/Monday
MI 4 1p-2p A155 Tuesday/Monday
CSI 2p-3p A133 N/A
GEOMETRY 2p-3p A150 Wednesday
OOP 1p-2p A133 N/A
Web Tech 2p-3p A156 N/A

Mathematics Instructional Program Aide

Provides support for students in MI I/II, MI II, MI III, MI IV and AB Calculus

Ms. Christine Loos                 630-907-5486             cloos@imsa.edu

Room Number:  A157, Mathematics Department

Schedule:

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

10:30a-5p

10:30a-5p

9a-3:30p

9a-3:30p

9a-3:30pm

Science

Set support given to students on I Days with Science Faculty.

Course Review Time Room or Teacher Office
SI BIO 12p–2p Science Study Room
SI CHEM 11a-12p

1p-2p

Science Study Room
SI PHYSICS 1p-4p B116
MSI 12p-2p Science Study Room

Grade Calculation

Students should refer to the class syllabus regarding point value of the various assessments, including but not limited to homework, exams, quizzes, and essays.  Teachers determine grades by total points or weighted categories.

I Day AM Study Hall

Mandated study hall from 9am-11am on I Days for students identified as struggling academically by their case manager, CAC or strategies team member.  Attendance is taken and recorded in PowerSchool. Unexcused absences to the study hall will result in suspension of residential privileges.

During the 2 hour study time, students will meet individually with the Learning Strategies Coordinator to review academic status and create an academic action plan.  Additionally, the Math Instructional Program Aid is available to provide with math support.

Room Number:  A152/A154

Coordinator:       Amy Keck             630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Evening Study

Mandated study hall from 7pm-9pm, Monday thru Thursday in the IRC, for students identified as struggling academically by their case manager, CAC or strategies team member. Attendance is taken and recorded in PowerSchool. Unexcused absences to Evening Study will result in suspension of residential privileges.

Peer Tutors are available to work with students during Evening Study.  An IMSA employee supervises Evening Study.

Room Number: Informational Resource Center (IRC)

Coordinator:       Amy Keck             630-907-5971                    akeck@imsa.edu

Academy Advocate

Assigned IMSA faculty or staff to offer additional support for identified students to succeed academically and emotionally.  Advocates can be assigned to any student anytime throughout the school year.

Contact Dr. Anita White at awhite@imsa.edu or Dr. Linda Hefferin at lhefferin@imsa.edu for more information.

Counselors

The focus of the counselors is to address the psychological and social needs of our students within the context of research and experience from the field of gifted education. We are committed to the students’ personal, social, and intellectual growth, as well as their adjustment to and engagement with the IMSA community. Students are assisted with identifying and working through personal barriers, normal developmental issues, and stressors, and clinical problems, which could impede academic success.

Location: Student Life Office, C125

Kevin Kusy, MA, LCPC                    630-907-5988            kkusy@imsa.edu

Takeisha Rheams, LCPC                    630-907-5070             trheams@imsa.edu

Education Plans

Support plan created for identified students needing additional assistance in and/or outside of the classroom.  Refer to the Student Handbook for more information.

Dr. Linda Hefferin                              630-907-5677             lhefferin@imsa.edu

Room Number: A111B

Nurse

The IMSA Student Health Care Services Office provides health assessment and treatment for illness/injury, first aid, health counseling, administration of medication as prescribed by a physician, and other appropriate therapeutic interventions.

Monday-Friday from 7:30am – 4:00pm

Room Number: C117

Anne Joseph, RN 630-907-5008 ajoseph@imsa.edu
Angie Shoener, RN 630-907-5008 ashoener@imsa.edu
Dana Pflederer, RN 630-907-5008 dpflederer@imsa.edu