Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.

IMSA Students 'Dominated' National Russian Essay Contests, Win Scholarships

actrlogo2.jpgIMSA students "dominated" the recent national Russian Essay Contest, according to this month's Principal's reports. Of the 1,463 students nationwide who entered the competition, 28% of all gold medal winners came from the Academy, with all participating IMSA students coming home with medals and certificates. The Russian III Seniors did particularly well, earning 38% of all Gold Medals in the second round of judging, which took place at the A. S. Pushkin institute in Moscow.

In more good news for Russian Seniors, Natasha Freund and Emma Sloan were awarded fully-funded National Security Language  Initiative for Youth (NSLI-Y) Scholarships to study Russian for seven weeks in Estonia. Natasha and Emma will live with host families this summer, studying Russian intensively for 20 hours each week, and participating in numerous cultural activities.

NSLI-Y Scholarships are merit-based and very competitive (12 applicants for each Russian spot this year).  Natasha and Emma are the sixteenth and seventeenth IMSA students of Russian to be awarded NSLI-Y Scholarships since the program began in 2007.

National Russian Essay Contest Awards (Final Round) 

The second/final round of judging for advanced-level gold medal essays in the 33rd National Russian Essay Contest (NREC) was recently completed at the A. S. Pushkin Institute in Moscow by Professor M. B. Kataeva.  IMSA Russian III SENIORS dominated the second round, winning 38% of the gold medals awarded.  Here are the results:

Timothy Akintilo (Gold)

Molly Fane (Gold)

Natasha Freund (Gold)

Nicholas Kiene (Gold)

Braden Lauder (Gold)

Vivian Liu (Gold)

Nicholas Magerko (Silver)

Rohit Mahankali (Gold)

Matthew Moranz (Silver)

Julian Pacheco (Silver)

Daniel Pechi (Gold)

Nathan Sutphen (Silver)


National Russian Essay Contest Awards (First Round)

Advanced Gold

Timothy Akintilo, Molly Fane, Natasha Freund, Nicholas Kiene, Braden Lauder, Vivian Liu, Nicholas Magerko, Rohit Mahankali, Matthew Moranz, Julian Pacheco, Daniel Pechi, Nathan Sutphen

Advanced Silver

Yasmine Gordon, Lohitha Guntupalli, Derek Lubecke, Emma Sloan, Rajiv Trehan

Intermediate Gold

Niharika Agrawal, Joshua Burke, Grace Carlberg, Rakesh Chatrath, Maya Costales, Sarah Leahy, Liam McParland, Manojna Namuduri, Rosaura Ocampo, Michael Qian, Joy Qiu, Ashrita Raghuram, Joshua Rodriguez, Akshay Verma

Intermediate Silver

Kaleb Burklow, Omar Hafiz, Keelyn O’Brien, Milutin Perovic, Nicholas Rodriguez, Vinay Sama, Mackenzie Smith

Intermediate Bronze

Sahiti Pidaparti, Elysia Sawyers, Maxwell Shramuk

Intermediate Honorable Mention

Christopher Ni