Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.


IMSA Alumni Authors Ramez Naam '90 and Ryan Littrell '92 each recently released books, just in time for holiday gift-giving or beginning the new year with a new read.

Illinois Governor Pat Quinn has appointed IMSA Founding President and President Emerita Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall as a General Trustee of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois.

Six IMSA staff members completed the 2012 rigorous national certification process to become NBPTS-certified by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NPBTS) bringing to 33% the number of IMSA teachers now NBPTS-certified.

IMSA Science Faculty member Dr. Peter Dong is the latest in a string of IMSA science faculty members to win a statewide teaching award from the Illinois Science Teachers Association (ISTA).

IMSA Class of 2007 graduate Rhiana Gunn-Wright was named a Rhodes Scholar, one of only two to be named from the State of Illinois.

IMSA President Dr. Glenn W. "Max" McGee is interviewed in the Chicago Tribune story "School Report Cards to Change," citing the historic significance of the new Illinois School Report Card and why the change was long overdue.

IMSA Class of 1995 graduate Sam Yagan, a leading and widely-recognized serial entrepreneur, has been named CEO of Match, Inc., responsible for overseeing 37 brands in 25 countries throughout the world.

The Office of the Governor has appointed Kathy He, founder and president of the biotech company VIVREGEN, as a member of the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy® (IMSA) Board of Trustees.

IMSA and the Project ALS partnership, including the inspirational story of Former IMSA Principal Dr. Eric McLaren, is featured in several recent media stories.

Four IMSA seniors have qualified as semifinalists in the 2013 National Achievement® Scholarship Program, an academic competition for African-American high school students.