Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.


Registration is now open for ninth-graders in the Chicago area to participate in the PROMISE - Early Involvement Program (EIP) sponsored by the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy® (IMSA). The application deadline is Friday, October 5, 2012. Applications are now available online.

The Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy welcomed 230 Illinois students as members of its sophomore class, the Class of 2015

IMSA recently recognized its 55 semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit® Scholarship Program. The semifinalists represent 40 communities throughout Illinois.

Illinois State Representatives Linda Chapa LaVia (D-Aurora) and Kimberly du Buclet (D-Chicago) took questions from dozens of IMSA students during the Legislative Panel on Education Reform, hosted by IMSA and presented by the Student Committee for IMSA Advancement (SCIA) and Peer Multicultural Educators (PME).

IMSA's newest students contributed nearly 450 hours of community service in a mere two hours to area organizations during the 5th Annual Day of Service.

Dwan Prude '97 said he discovered his passion as a senior student at IMSA.  This was clearly evident during his motivational and moving keynote address to the IMSA community during the IMSA 2012 Convocation ceremony.

IMSA alumnus and internationally acclaimed Astronomer Dr. Scott Gaudi ’91 received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor given by the U.S. Government for science and engineering professionals in their early research careers.

IMSA is pleased to announce the employment of Dr. Diana Sharp as principal and chief academic officer.  Sharp, assistant provost at William Rainey Harper College in Palatine, IL., will assume her duties on July 1.

IMSA’s Quiz Bowl team took 4th place in the nation at the PACE (Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence)  National Scholastics Championship in St. Louis out of 64 high school teams in the U.S.

IMSA Class of 2004 graduate Alice Zhao of Aurora was one of only three recipients selected by the Alumnae of Northwestern University to receive a 2012 Graduate Fellowship for graduate-level tuition.