Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.


Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall

Founding President and President Emerita Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall attended the 2013 annual meeting for members of the Clinton Global Initiative

Gita Krishnaswamy, an IMSA '96 alumna, secured about $400,000 in federal Race to the Top funding to bring Problem-Based Learning to Kent Washington, in collaboration with IMSA's PBL Network

The National Merit Scholarship Program recently named 48 semifinalists from IMSA in its 2014 competition.

Sarah Lightfoot Vidal

Sarah Lightfoot Vidal, a 2008 IMSA alumna and recent graduate of Drexel University in Philadelphia, has been given a Fulbright Student Grant to conduct research in Concepción, Chile.

Vinesh Kannan

Vinesh Kannan, a Junior from Schaumburg, excelled in the National Forensic League’s speech competition, earning 10th place out of 250 competitors in the Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking category.

James Tao

Senior James Tao outdid himself this summer, winning a gold medal competing for Team USA at the International Mathematics Olympiad.

Saraswathi Nookala and Saurabh Kumar won the English Team's Award for Excellence in Expository Writing for the spring semester.

Moodle, a web application that IMSA uses for its online learning experiences and collaboration, underwent a major technical upgrade on June 4th and a subsequent makeover the next day.

Cover of Heliotrope Magazine

Heliotrope 2013, IMSA's Arts and Literature Magazine is a fascinating collection of photography, poems, and short stories by our talented student body.

Dr. Maureen Robinson

Dr. Maureen Robinson, Dean of Faculty at South Africa’s Stellenbosch University, visited IMSA on Wednesday, May 22