Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.

IMSA Community Celebrates Intel Star Innovator Award

The IMSA community had even more to celebrate following several special presentations at the community-wide celebration in honor of its Intel Star Innovator Award.

Aurora Mayor Tom Weisner (center) presents IMSA President Dr. Max McGee with a new street sign in IMSA's honor (IMSA Principal Dr. Eric McLaren, pictured right).
State Representatives Linda Chapa LaVia (D-Aurora) and Tom Cross (R-Oswego) presented House Resolution No. 415 and No. 624 in honor of IMSA.
IMSA science teacher Dr. Anita White celebrates with fellow team members.
(pictured l-to-r) Intel representative Joseph Krekeler, Smart Technologies representatives Rae Ruffin and Katie Daugird, IMSA Princpal Dr. Eric McLaren, IMSA Founding President and President Emerita Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall, IMSA  Board of Trustees Chairman Steven Isoye and IMSA President Dr. Max McGee.

IMSA's celebration, held November 5, 2009, was attended by several government leaders including State Representative Linda Chapa LaVia (D-Aurora), House Republican Leader and State Rep. Tom Cross (R-Oswego) and Aurora Mayor Tom Weisner.   There was much to celebrate as IMSA was the only educational institution in the nation to receive the Intel Schools of Distinction Star Innovator Award, announced during an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.  This award is presented annually to one educational institution that has a “comprehensive program incorporating innovative and effective use of technology, engaging parents and the community in students’ education, fostering professional development and teamwork, and delivering consistent achievement of high academic standards.”

From an applicant pool of more than 700 schools, IMSA was named one of six 2009 Intel Schools of Distinction Award recipients.  From these six, Intel selected IMSA to receive the top honor as Star Innovator. 

To recognize IMSA's national achievement,  State Rep. LaVia presented House Resolution No. 415 and State Rep. Cross presented House Resolution No. 624 [co-sponsors were State Rep. Kay Hatcher (R-Yorkville) and State Rep. Roger Eddy (R-Hutsonville)] during the celebration.

Aurora Mayor Tom Weisner then presented IMSA President Dr. Max McGee with a new street sign to honor IMSA (see photo).

The celebration was covered by the Aurora Beacon-News, Daily Herald, Chicago Tribune and TribLocal.

See photos of the celebrations here.

For more information contact