# Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy®

igniting and nurturing creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition

IMSA Board of Trustees Special Board Meeting Horwitz Conference Room 1500 Sullivan Road, Aurora, IL 60506

June 12, 2014

## Minutes

The Board of Trustees convened in open session at 8:00 a.m. with Chairman Griffin presiding.

*Trustees Present*: Sheila Griffin, Jay Budzik, Eric Brown, Steven Isoye, Leslie Juby, Carey Mayer, Paula Olszewski-Kubilius, Erin Roche

*Trustees Absent:* Kathy He, Mary Kalantzis, Luis Núñez, Marsha Rosner, Ana Rodriguez, Karen Hunter Anderson, James Applegate, Christopher Koch and James Rydland

Staff Present: Mary Spreitzer

Review Purpose, Process, Timeline of Special Meeting

Chairman Griffin briefly reviewed the purpose, process and timeline of the meeting.

Go into Closed Session (8:02 a.m.)

Chairman Griffin requested a motion to go into Closed Session to discuss and Employment, Performance and Compensation of Specific Employees and the Selection of a Person to Fill a Public Office, (5 ILCS 120/2 Sec. 2a, (c) (1 & 3)

A motion was made by Trustee Juby and seconded by Trustee Isoye to go into closed session. Voting aye were Trustees: Griffin, Budzik, Brown, Isoye, Juby, Mayer, Olszewski-Kubilius and Roche. The motion passed by a vote of 8 ayes to 0 nays.

#### **Closed Session Held**

### Returned to Open Session

The Committee reconvened in open session at 1:05 p.m. with Chairman Griffin presiding.

*Trustees Present*: Sheila Griffin, Jay Budzik, Steven Isoye, Leslie Juby, Carey Mayer, Paula Olszewski-Kubilius, Erin Roche

*Trustee Absent:* Eric Brown (left closed session at 12:40 PM), Kathy He, Mary Kalantzis, Luis Núñez, Marsha Rosner, Ana Rodriguez, Karen Hunter Anderson, James Applegate, Christopher Koch and James Rydland

Staff Present: Mary Spreitzer

A motion was made by Trustee Isoye and seconded by Trustee Juby to adjourn the meeting.

Special Board of Trustees Meeting 06-12-2014 Minutes Page 2 of 2

# <u>Adjournment</u>

Voting aye were Trustees: Griffin, Budzik, Isoye, Juby, Mayer, Olszewski-Kubilius, and Roche. The motion passed by a vote of 7 ayes to 0 nays.

The meeting adjourned at 1:06 p.m.

Sincerely,

Sheila MB Griffin Chairman Search Mary Spreitzer Secretary ProTem for Presidential