Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

To ignite and nurture creative, ethical, scientific minds that advance the human condition.


AURORA– For the second consecutive year, the IMSA Fund for Advancement of Education ( received a $100,000 Innovation Generation Grant from the Motorola Foundation to help spark Illinois students' interest in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) fields.  

AURORA—The Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy® (IMSA) recently recognized its 50 semifinalists in the 2009 National Merit® Scholarship Program.The semifinalists represent 37 communities throughout Illinois. Local-area recipients include: (see attached list).

More than 1.5 million seniors in nearly 21,000 U.S. high schools entered the year 2009 competition by taking the qualifying exam in 2007 (their junior year). National semifinalists include less than one percent of each state’s seniors.

AURORA— As of July 23, 2008, 253 Illinois students will be members of the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy’s sophomore class, the Class of 2011.  Area students selected include: (see attached list).

AURORA —The Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy (IMSA) Board of Trustees has elected distinguished educational leader Steven Isoye of Chicago as its fifth chairman.

From June 22 through July 25, the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy® (IMSA) hosted the residential Summer Institute for Golden Apple "Scholars" majoring in mathematics or science Education.

AURORA — Nobel Laureate and IMSA Resident Scholar Dr. Leon Lederman is the 2008 recipient of the William Benton Medal for Distinguished Public Service in the field of education.  Dr. Lederman was only the tenth person to receive the Benton Medal, presented to him at the June 14th convocation of the University of Chicago.

AURORA— The 20th senior class of the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy® (IMSA) graduated at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 31, at the Paramount Theatre in Aurora.  This year’s commencement address was given by Arden L. Bement, Jr., Ph.D,  Director of the National Science Foundation.